Easy DIY: Jewelry Tree

So I needed a jewelry tree, but I couldn’t find any that I liked. At the very least the ones that I really liked came with a very high price tag. And let’s be honest – I like a good Saturday morning project. So here’s what I came up with:

TreeClose-up

I’ll do my best to break it down for you. I was lucky enough to have a lot of the materials that I needed on hand. Floral wire, jewelry wire, small beads, a small block of Styrofoam, some river rocks, Spanish moss and a flower pot. You’ll also need some small pliers for twisting and beading.

Treesupplies

I used the heavier gauge floral wire to create the structure of the tree. I started with the roots and worked my way up. I left one long root wire pointed directly down. This will stick into the Styrofoam.

With two wires at a time I twisted each branch, separating the wires towards the end to create the smaller branches. Using my pliers, I also folded the end of each tip to avoid a sharp point. In a couple places I created loops along the branches for earrings.

Tree2

Note: to create that gnarled look on a single wire, I twisted two wires together and then untwisted.

The whole thing should be very organic and free form. I didn’t attempt to make my tree very symmetrical or even. I felt it looked more natural to allow the wire to somewhat dictate the finished form.

Treeassembled

When I was done twisting and twisting and twisting my tree into shape, I started beading. (Not bleeding! BEADing!!!) The light gauge jewelry wire easily slips between the cracks of the floral wire, enabling me to bead along the branches.

Then I rooted my tree in the Styrofoam block. I stuffed the block into a small pot and filled the pot with river rocks and Spanish moss. You’ll notice that I decided afterwards that I wanted a slightly heavier looking base, so I used the second pot just to give the base a bit more visual weight. You’ll only need one pot to recreate this project.

And here’s my finished product!

Finished Tree

I’m very happy with the results. I haven’t seen a jewelry tree for sale that has this kind of gnarled, organic look. Also, this project was unbelievably, extremely, very, very, very inexpensive. It was also very fun and very easy to make. Seriously, who could ask for more?!

Enjoy!!!

Rachel | www.rejpInteriors.com

Leave a Reply

