IKEA Half-hack: Work/Craft Table

So I needed a worktable for my office/craft space. Let’s jump ahead; here’s what I came up with:

Work Table 1

Per usual, I did not want to go out to get something completely new but I also had a couple of requirements. I wanted it to be something I could stand at comfortably. I wanted it to be square and I wanted it to have some very functional storage. Of course I also wanted to be able to utilize a couple items I already had. Let me break it down for you.

2 small vertical closet organizers (Closetmaid, $15 each) – these I had

worktableshelves

2 rails, 10 hooks & 4 hanging containers (Ikea, $3 ea, $1, $1 ea) – these I had

rail

3 tie plates (Home Depot, $0.58 each)

ties

2 39″x24″ tabletops (Ikea, $6 each)

worktabletop

1 trestle leg (Ikea, $30) – I considered this my splurge for this project

worktabletrestle

I used the tie plates to tie my two tops together & I mounted the rails between my two shelf towers. The rest is pretty self-explanatory. The end result is exactly what I wanted: loads of storage, lots of room to spread out as I work and the finished piece isn’t too cumbersome in the room.

Work Table 2

(And yes, I call this a half-hack because I think a true hack needs to re-purpose or really alter something beyond its original use.)

Rachel | rejpInteriors.com

Leave a Reply

