IKEA Hack: Reclaimed Lerberg Etagere

After rearranging my living room, my 2 IKEA Lerberg shelf units were inadequately sized for the space. I really didn’t want to buy something new or drop the cash on the units I really liked. Thus my Reclaimed Lerberg Etagere was born!

This hack couldn’t be simpler. In fact, I’m convinced I’m not the first person to think of this.

I’ll start with the inspiration:

from Safavieh

I like the combo of wood and metal in units like these and wanted to do something similar. Additionally, I wanted the unit to look a little worn-in. But most importantly, my etagere also needed to be 6 feet wide to better fill the space.

Here’s what I wound-up with:

Hack 1

Hack 2

Hack 3

The hack is pretty self-explanatory. I picked up 4 planks of wood, 2×6, each 6′ in length, from my local salvage goods store, UrbanMiners. (These replaced the wire shelves that the units come with; you could certainly use any size pieces you like.) I also picked up 32 2″ wood screws and 32 washers. I used the washers to protect the legs from the screws drilling too far into the metal frame.

My 2 Lerberg units gave me a total of 4 upside-down ‘U’-shaped legs. You’ll turn these legs sideways for this hack. (The Lerberg legs shift and move quite a bit. Their stability is created by the shelf. For that reason, it’s best to measure and mark out your screw locations on your planks for even placement.) Screw the legs into place and voila – you have your new etagere!

I’m pretty happy with the results. The look is clean and simple. And it does the job. It could even become a room divider if I ever need one.

LerbergEtagere

Want to know more about the art hanging above? You can check out that post here: DIY Push Pin Art.

Rachel | rejpInteriors.com

Featured on IKEAhackers: pretty cool!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

